DIY Ruffled Fabric Keychain

Finally – a tutorial for my Ruffled Keychain Fobs!!  They’re a fabric wristlet that hooks to your keys, so you can wear them on your wrist, grab them easily, etc.

I have been making these quite a while and always sell out of them when they’re listed in my Etsy Shop (I should probably stock that someday….)

You’ll need a keychain clip thing – I don’t know what they’re called, but I think you can buy them in the “notions” section.  Then you’ll need 2 coordinating fabrics and some fusible fleece.

Cut one piece of ruffle fabric approximately 2 inches by 24 inches.  Cut the piece of fusible fleece about 1 inch by 10 inches.  If you don’t have fusible fleece, you can use regular fleece or flannel or anything to make it a little thick.  Cut one piece of the main fabric 1.5 inches by 5 inches.  Then cut 2 pieces of the main fabric about 2 inches by 12 inches.  Then one one end cut the curves like shown below:

Iron the square-ish piece into a narrow strip – fold up about 1/2 inch, iron it, then fold down about 1/2 inch and iron it, to give 2 nice edges:

Grab your ruffle piece and finish the edges.  You can hem them.  I used my serger set on “P”  – – it’s like a not-so-dense rolled them:

Then sew down the middle and gather the strip.  I talk about gathering on the Ruffled Hairclip Post.  It should be long enough to go from the end to where the curve starts:

Sew the ruffle down to the main fabric:

Then sew the two pieces of main fabric together along the side seams that you had turned under.  Be sure not to sew the ruffle down at the edge:

Alright, ready to assemble – – put on the clip thing, in the curve area, then fold it up like so:

And then fold the other end so it slightly overlaps – – my finger is in the way because I am bad at using pins – I just sew and go.  Anyways, zig zag over that seam to hold it in place:

Now, to make it look pretty, take the strip you made and wrap it around – tuck the end under itself to made a finished edge:

Then sew along the top and bottom edge of the strip – you can see my stitching below:

That’s it!!  I have one of these and I LOVE it!!  I can just slip it on my wrist and hold my keys that way when I run into the store, library, etc.  It’s also easier to find when I chuck it into my purse then just a small keychain.

That’s it!!  I have one of these and I LOVE it!!  I can just slip it on my wrist and hold my keys that way when I run into the store, library, etc.  It’s also easier to find when I chuck it into my purse then just a small keychain.

Leave a Reply

