The Contents of A Mama’s Purse

purse When I was younger, I was one of those girls who had to carry a purse to hold her thin compact of pressed ivory powder and a well worn tube of vanilla lip gloss. Of course, those were the days before necessary kid snacks and boisterous tangles of keys. Now, that I am a mature woman of 31, (when did that happen?) my tiny pop tart sized purse has magically evolved into a duffel bag sized carry on. I don’t know how my purse keeps getting bigger, because I know now that the bigger the bag, the harder it is to find exactly what you are looking for in that moment when you happen to be looking for it.

This morning, after I dropped my boys off at school, I decided to dump the contents of my enormous shoulder bag onto my clean kitchen table and peruse the contents with a judgmental eye, I knew that there would be several items that were not only unnecessary to carry with me, but also downright ridiculous to have in a purse to begin with. But, the more that I study the picture above, I realize that every single item has a special use and it indispensable to me.

I am one of those women who likes to prepare for the unexpected and that is why, amongst other things, I always keep a snack sized ziploc bag with band aids and neosporin in the side pocket of my purse. For your enjoyment and for a glimpse into a part of my life, pictured above are the very contents of my purse this morning.

Purse Contents List

Animal Crackers – Because you never know when your toddler will have a sudden craving for these delicious cookies.

Apricots – For the days when I need a sweet treat that I don’t have to feel guilty about. I am trying so hard to be a “clean eater” but more on that in another blog entry.

Beechnut Veggies on-the-go – With a sometimes picky two-year-old eater, these little packets of nutrition are a Godsend for me. No matter what the combination is (the one pictured above is pumpkin, zucchini and apple), my daughter will devour it. And it is 100% natural and completely gluten free. We both win.

Body Mist – Without a few sporadic sprays of my favorite BBW scent, I feel incomplete. My outfit is made whole with just a little fragrance. Plus, it is perfect for refreshing the inside of my car on hot afternoons.

Car, House, Church, Gun Safe and Safe Deposit Box Keys – Can’t get anywhere without them.

Cover Girl Loose Powder – With shiny, oily skin, this is a beauty staple for me. It seems to be the only kind of powder that I have discovered, that doesn’t clump up or crack on my face.

Hand Sanitizer – With 3 sets of inquisitive hands, I have discovered that whether it is a colorful rock, a wilted flower or a dead bug, nothing is off limits to little fingers.

Ink Pen – Perfect for capturing ideas before they slip from thought or signing those forgotten about parental permission slips while in early morning car line.

Katie Belle Handmade Lip Balm – Made with these two hands in my very kitchen. This Lemon Cheesecake lip balm is the best and most effective lip balm that I have ever tried. And I have tried a lot. Because it is all natural, I can use it on my lips, dry hands, dry face, stretch marks, kids faces and I have even tried it on my daughter’s diaper rash. It works on everything.

Pampers Sensitive Wipes – So many uses, they can’t all be listed. Sticky hands, runny noses, grimy faces, wet shirt from spilled chocolate milk, dirt remover from dropped cups or baby dolls, etc.

Pocket Knife – For all of those days that I have had to cut out a scratchy shirt tag, a stubborn piece of plastic from a newly bought toy or a wayward thread from a pair of jeans.

Tic Tacs – Being a coffee lover, I like to pop a couple tic tacs in the mornings to make my morning salutations more bearable. Because, fresh breath is possibly the most important aspect of a person.

Tiny Toy Car – For those unplanned periods of time spent sitting still in a quiet waiting room or busy restaurant. A toy car is a perfect attention grabber. Even for my husband.

True Lemon – I am an avid water drinker and every once in a while a splash of lemon is exactly what I need for a treat.

Wallet – For those days when I actually do have a couple of dollars in it. Other than that, it is used mainly to house my driver’s license and my blood donor card.

Leave a Reply

