Peach and Pomegranate Cobbler

peach

This week has felt like the first real week of Autumn for me. The frosty mornings have been chilly and grey and I have gladly brought out my fleece jacket from the back corner of my closet. Welcome back, old friend. With the golden and scarlet  swirling leaves it has made me feel like I am living in a Leonid Afremov painting and with that thought, my feelings of contentment have grown right along with the piles of raked leaves.

The cool, damp air had me craving something sweet and warm, so I decided to dig through my treasure trove of frozen fruit and discovered several cups of frozen peaches. My mind immediately wandered to thoughts of a golden brown peach cobbler and I knew that it was time to get out my trusty Kitchen Aid mixer.

After thawing out the peaches, I decided to add in some pomegranate seeds that were left  from a pomegranate that I had shared with the kids earlier on in the week. Peaches and pomegranate together? Voila!   A new recipe had been born.

Ingredients

2 1/2 Cups Peaches, peeled and sliced

1/4 Cup Pomegranate Seeds

1/3 cup White Sugar

1/2 cup Butter, softened

1 cup Self Rising Flour

1 cup White Sugar

1 Egg

1 Tablespoon Vanilla

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Place peaches in greased 1.5 quart dish. Sprinkle 1/3 cup white sugar over peaches.

3. Sprinkle the pomegranate seeds over the peaches.

4. Mix 1/2 cup butter, 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup self rising flour together.

5. Add egg and vanilla and mix well.

6. Drop mixture by spoonful over the peaches and pomegranate seeds.

7. Bake for 45-50 minutes or until golden brown on top.

Can serve this delicious and unique cobbler with vanilla bean ice cream or it can be eaten by itself. Absolutely delicious!

Leave a Reply

